“The Good Snatch.” PUC Day 32.

I’ve been a little distracted today because I’m trying to help Randy, Shanna and Corey set up a new WordPress blog at CrossFit Asheville. It’s off to a start, so now I’ve got to refocus on my own stuff.

In other news, I’m planning to move this “Training Board” blog over to a self-hosted WordPress installation on my domain at my web hosting service. So I’m tinkering with that too.

Up early after a decent but short (5 hour?) sleep. Feeling pretty good. And off to a 6:00 am workout at CrossFit Asheville.

Warm Up

Running. Martial Arts Punching and Footwork exercises. Shoulder dislocates. Hip mobility and Sampson stretches. Pull-Ups (10 wide grip, unassisted). Windshield wipers (lying prone, 10). Walking lunges (10 each side). Ring dips (assisted w/ medium band).

Strength / Skill

Hang Power Snatches: find your 1 rep max.

Results:
10 x 45 / 7 x 65 / 5 x 65 / 3 x 75 / 3 x 85 / 2 x 95 (PR)

This was easier than I thought, and yet, the higher weights are very tough. As you can see I didn’t really look for a “1 rep”… I feel good about what I did.

WOD: Lunges, Pull-Ups, Wall-Ball Sit-Ups

For time:

100 feet walking lunge
15 pull-ups
15 wall ball sit-ups

100 feet walking lunge
12 pull-ups
12 wall ball sit-ups

100 feet walking lunge
9 pull-ups
9 wall ball sit-ups

100 feet walking lunge

Not a difficult workout, but a sweaty one. It was easier for me since I was using a resistance band (medium size) for the pull-ups. So, yeah, I am not completely done with resistance bands yet. When I can do 21, 15, 9 unassisted pull-ups, I will have arrived.

Result:
8:24

Pull-Up Challenge Day 32

As has been my custom on the past few days, I did my first 10 during the warm-up. That leaves 22 pull-ups. I intend to do sets of 3 to 6 on 4 minute intervals, for a total time of about 24 minutes.

Results:

Reps #1-10: During CFAVL Warm-Up (see above).
Reps #11-14: 2:18 pm. Front grip.
Reps #15-20: SET OF 6. 2:22 pm. Front grip.
Reps #21-23: 2:26 pm. Front grip.
Reps #24-29: 2:30 pm. Reverse grip.
Reps #30-33: 2:38 pm. Reverse grip.

Life is good.

Leave a comment

Filed under CrossFit Asheville WODS, Workouts

Leave a Reply

