“Nasty Gals.” PUC Day 31. Unassisted Pull Ups in WOD!

I tried and I tried to sleep last night, but sleep took hours coming. I went to the 6:00 am workout with only 4 hours of sleep under my belt. Inexplicably, today Lena woke up at 5:00 am, BEFORE I got out of bed. Sleep problems at home. 2 block breakfast (salmon and banana and coffee) and off to CrossFit Asheville.

Warm Up

Martial Arts Warm-Up routines (running, shadow boxing, footwork). Shoulder dislocates, sampsons, hip mobility, calf and hamstring stretching, etc. Then Windshield Wipers (8), Chest to Bar Pull Ups (10, dead hang), Walking Lunges (20, 10 for each leg), and Ring Dips (medium band assisted, 15).

Skill/Strength Work

Max Height Box Jump

Results:
39.25″ — a new PR!

WOD: “Nasty Gals”

Compare the CrossFit named workout “Nasty Girls”, which was yesterday’s Main Site WOD.

3 rounds for time of:
50 squats
7 chest-to-bar pullups
10 hang power cleans (M-115lbs, W-75lbs)

For me, a difficult workout. But it still marked some milestones. A heavy weight, and … drumroll please, unassisted pull-ups.

Total Time: 11:54.
100 lbs. on the Hang Power Cleans (first 2 reps at 110 lbs.)

MY FIRST EVER WOD WITH UNASSISTED (KIPPING) PULL-UPS!

Stretching/Skill

After the workout, I was feeling the stress in my forearms and joints. I did some mild stretching. I also worked on kicking up into a freestanding handstand. I am almost there!

Pull-Up Challenge Day 31

It’s a bit cheeky, but today I am going to call it good. I’ve done all my 31 pull ups. I did happen to do 10 dead hang pull ups during the warm-up. And then I did 21 unassisted pull-ups during the workout. Even though these weren’t all DEAD HANG pull-ups, they were full-range kipping pull ups performed at high intensity. They deserve to count and my body needs them to.

Leave a comment

Filed under CrossFit Asheville WODS, Workouts

Leave a Reply

