Rest Active: Walk, Run and Eat

Stayed up too late and was driven to bed too early. My legs are sore today from yesterday’s sprinting and box-jumps. I would gladly have laid around all day with no activity at all. But it was not to be. My old running partner from Chicago grad school days, Alexander Mawyer, is visiting us with his family in tow, and when you have visitors, it’s always an active time.

Short Walking Tour of Asheville Downtown

And so we spent the morning, after a leisurely breakfast, doing a walking tour of downtown Asheville, about 1.6 miles up and down the hill.

Jogging the Dog Slide 5k

Then, when we got back, Alex insisted on taking me out for a “run,” so I insisted on the Dog Slide 5k Route. I felt incredibly able and light on my feet during this very slow run. To keep things interesting, I worked on my pose running techniques, and also threw in some carioca steps, some wall jumps, and some backwards jogging. Really the “run” was a “jog” because our time was about 34 minutes.

… and Eat

This was a day of moving from meal to meal. A day of treats and feasts. Between the focus on eating, and the rainy weather, it was Sunday on a Thursday. The only letdown was that Friday then becomes… a Mental Monday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Outdoor Recreation, Rest Day

Leave a Reply

