Gravity and Grace

Sleep was decent, from about 10:30 pm to 6:00 am, with a brief interruption, which I can’t even remember, from Lena waking. Coffee w/ milk. 2 block breakfast. Some housework, then off to the 9:00 am CrossFit Asheville class.

Warm-Up

Hamstring and calf stretching. Agility running, crawling, etc. Shoulder dislocates. Sampson stretching, hip mobility. Push-ups, Pull-ups, Side Plank Rolls, Overhead Squats.

Skill Work

Spent about 10 minutes working on aspects of the Muscle Up. I am far from achieving this. I mainly worked on my false grip on the Olympic rings, with help from Randy, especially by doing negatives.

WOD: Grace

Grace is 30 clean and jerks, for time.
Rx’d weights: 135# for men, 95# for women

To warm up for my Grace I did various aspects of the clean and jerk with a 20 kg bar, and then added a few kgs for a few reps. In the end, I decided to use 45 kg, which is 99 lbs. It seemed like plenty. Shanna said, if I could beat 5 minutes with it, then next time I could add more weight. Guess I’ll go to 50 kgs for my next Grace!

Results: 4:48, w/ 45 kgs..

I love it. Love it. Gravity is a harsh mistress, and Grace is her handmaiden.

Leave a comment

Filed under CrossFit Asheville WODS, Workouts

Leave a Reply

