Shoulders. PUC Postponed.

Decent sleep, from about 11:30 pm to 7:00 am. I tried to get more but had problems, and Lena woke up. Waking up, I felt good today. Clearly my troubles yesterday were linked to too few hours of sleep.

Breakfast of about 2 blocks protein, 1.5 blocks carbohydrate, 4 blocks fat.

Last night and this morning I was feeling a little impingement and intermittent shooting pain in my left shoulder. I wasn’t sure what to do about this. However, two coincidences were my guide. First, this morning I watched a video on the CrossFit Journal site about Training Through Acute Injuries, by Kelly Starrett. (He’s in favor of it). After watching it, I determined I could probably go to the gym and just be careful. Second, after arriving at CrossFit Asheville and doing the warm up, it turned out that it was a shoulder-focused heavy day. Signs from above: train through the pain. At least this one time only; I was reasonably certain I could work the shoulder without hurting it more.

Warm Up

Agility drills. Shoulder dislocates. Sampsons. Hip mobility. Rolling out the shoulder on the rolling foam. Clapping push-ups (10). Overhead squats (15). Band-assisted Pistols (10 each). Kipping swings (10). Good mornings (15).

Shoulders: Shoulder Press, Push Press, Push Jerk

WOD:
Shoulder Press 1-1-1-1-1
Push Press 3-3-3-3-3
Push Jerk 5-5-5-5-5

Results:
Press 1x: 95 / 105 / 110 / 120 / 125 fail / 115
Push Press 3x: 110 / 115 / 120 / 130 / 130
Push Jerk 5x: 95 / 105 / 115 / 130 / 135

Tied my PR for Shoulder Press. New PRs in Push Press and Push Jerk.

Pull-Up Challenge Postponed

I didn’t finish my reps yesterday, doing only 11. That leaves 16 reps to add to today’s 28 (a total of 44 reps).

When I think about doing these reps today, I can just feel the ache in my shoulders. I am going to take three workout days off of the deadhangs, i.e. Saturday, Monday, Tuesday. I will return on Wednesday June 10th, for my 44 reps. Friday will then be day 29.

Leave a comment

Filed under CrossFit Asheville WODS, Workouts

Leave a Reply

