PUC Day 23. CFA Teamwork WOD. Rafting the Pigeon.

Sleep was long (9:30 pm to 6:30 am) but interrupted about 3-4 times by Lena, including a 3:00 am nightmare, which brought her into our bed for 40 minutes. Food was adequate yesterday, and my choices were, on the whole, good. So I feel good this morning. Coffee, milk, 1 block breakfast, etc.

Pull-Up Challenge Day 23

I decided to do the Pull-Up Challenge first. 23 reps today. So I set my watch to a 75 second interval, and determined to do the whole group of 23 in a series of short sets spaced at 1:15 intervals. It would be 1 set every 75 seconds, first 1 set of 3, then 10 more sets of 2, for a total of 11 sets. This process worked well. On sets 9 & 11, front grip sets, I began to feel fatigue which made me worry I wouldn’t complete the second rep, but I got them. Reverse grip remains stronger than front grip.

Reps #1-23: done in 11 sets (1×3, 10×2), alternating grips, performed one set per 1:15, total time: 12:45. From 6:58 to 7:11 am.

After breakfast and more coffee, I headed to the CrossFit Asheville 9:00 Saturday workout.

Warm-Up

Agility drills warm-up. Sampson. Hip mobility. Calf/Hamstring stretches. Overhead squats, Shotguns, Supermans, Hindu Pushups

WOD: Teamwork: Weighted Run, Tire Flip, Pull-Ups, Burpees, Kettlebells

3 Rounds for time of:
200m 45lbs overhead bar run
10 tire flips
20 pull-ups
20 burpees
30 Kettlebell swings

To be completed by teams of two. Work together to hold the bar overhead for the run and teams may work together for the tire flip, but for the remaining exercises only one person works at a time while the other rests.

My partner was Mike Peterson. Results: 23:48, 45# kettlebell.

It was a whole lot of fun, a good sweat. The workout was followed by a bit of playing around with rings and other stuff.

Rafting the Pigeon River

Yael’s cousin Amiya is in town from London, UK, for a few days, and had the brilliant plan to go whitewater rafting. I am a fan of this sort of thing, so I said, “heck yeah, I’m coming with you!”

We went on a half-day trip on the Pigeon River with Nantahala Outdoor Center (NOC) and had quite a blast. Our guides, Charlie and Chris, were complete sweethearts, and the Pigeon half-day, with class II-IV rapids, was a fine couple of hours on the river. Highly recommended.

Leave a comment

Filed under CrossFit Asheville WODS, Outdoor Recreation, Workouts

Leave a comment