Snatches of Bethnal Green.

A strength day, combined with a “rest day.”  Is that possible?  I will rest from the PUC today (and tomorrow will be day 17).  I will of course ride my bike all over London.  I’ve already put in about 45 minutes on it.

Bethnal Green Weightlifting Club

Giles Greenwood, Me, a london CrossFitter, and Andrew Stemler
Me with Giles Greenwood (left),
Andrew Stemler (right) and
another London CrossFitter
at the Bethnal Green Weightlifting Club

I was privileged to get in contact with Andrew Stemler of CrossFit London UK before my trip, and after some emails back and forth, we finally arranged a meet. We hooked up today, which should have been a rest day for me, but it was ok. We met at a top-notch hole in the wall facility in the Bethnal Green neighborhood of London. I rode my bike over there. It’s a serious olympic weightlifting gym called the Bethnal Green Weightlifting Club. I’m not sure who’s really in charge, but the club was being presided over by Giles Greenwood, an Olympic lifting gold medalist for the UK in 2002 (see this link for a news story on his victory). He was super generous with his time for someone who hadn’t signed up, didn’t belong, and hadn’t paid.

Inside the Bethnal Green Weightlifting Club
Inside the Bethnal Green Weightlifting Club

I got a lot of good training advice from Stemler and Greenwood both. Everybody there was very kind to let me crash a regular Olympic lifting class period. They provided me with elementary instruction in the Snatch, and I tried to do a kind of 1-1-1-1-1-1-1 Snatch heavy day, even though I remain, let us say, a virgin. I will post some good pictures here and even some video, when I get back to the states, tomorrow night.

Today’s WORKOUT:
Training progression for snatch w/ 15-25 kg.
Single rep snatches and snatch attempts with 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 kg.

Thanks Andrew, Giles, and everybody down at Bethnal Green for being so kind to a newbie, and frankly pretty weak, American.

You can see video and other pictures of the day here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Workouts

Leave a Reply

