Bench and Row. PUC Skipped Day.

My trip to London has been great. I bought a one week membership at a little gym right on Belsize Park Gardens, about 2 blocks from Gadi and Mimi’s place. They have Concept II rowers and some crappy olympic weights, so I decided to do the WOD from the mainsite that was posted for Monday:

For time:
Row 500 meters
Body weight Bench press, 30 reps
Row 1000 meters
Body weight Bench press, 20 reps
Row 2000 meters
Body weight Bench press, 10 reps
Post time to comments.

Warm-Up

So, I arrived at the gym about 6:45 am. There wasn’t a good place to do warm-ups, so I just did a few squats, push-ups, and sit-ups. I should have done some pull-ups too, but I figured I might get them in for the challenge, later. But now it looks like I have to skip the challenge today. Details below.

Bench and Row

I didn’t have a chance to check the main site, so I had the details backwards. I did bench first, then the row.

I did a few warm up sets with the bench. It’s been a long time since I did this awkward, no fun movement. It hurt my right shoulder. Also, I quikly realized that there was no way I was going to do 60 reps of a full body-weight bench. I did: 20 kg x 10; 40 kg x 5; 50 kg x 5; 60 kg x 3; and then attemted 80 kg, and failed. So, I started my workout at 60 kg. 13 reps into the 30, I backed it down to 50 kg. Then I did my second set with 50 kg. My last set I did 55 kg. Also, the erg was on a totally different floor, so I had to walk through this facility, and up a staircase, to switch stations in the circuit. That slowed me down some of course. And my first set of bench presses was insanely slow.

Results: 47 minutes. First set of Benches: 13 reps x 60 kg; 17 reps x 50 kg; First Row: 500 meters in 1:43; Second set of benches: 20 reps x 50 kg; Second Row: 1000 meters in 3:53; Third set of benches: 10 reps x 55 kg; Third Row: 2000 meters in 7:53.

I got a good sweat going. Had a steam, shave, dressed, and now I am out and about biking through London.

Biking

Yesterday I probably rode 10 miles on my bike. I have similar plans for today. I am out and about, fully clothed, fighting London traffic. The insane taxi drivers, white van drivers, and bus drivers are a serious threat to my life. And the occasional bouts of severe rain (!) are more funny than anything else. I am seeing the city in the best possible way. Convinced of it!

Pull Up Challenge Day 15

Well, I found out where to DO pull-ups: the very cool “Trim Trail” at the base of Primrose Hill Park, just north of Regent’s Park. They have everything for the body-weight only workout crowd there. I saw some truly burly dudes doing pull ups there yesterday. Only trouble is, my schedule today won’t permit me to find the time to work in my 15 pulls. What I’ll have to do is go super early there tomorrow, and do 31 pulls. It’ll probably take me the better part of an hour and a half. That may be my whole workout for the day, that and bicycle riding. So, with that promise to myself, I sign off, no pull-ups today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Workouts

Leave a Reply

