“Cindy.” PUC Day 12.

6 hours of uninterrupted (!) sleep. Pretty good. 1 block breakfast (one boiled egg, 2/5 banana). Coffee w/ milk. Water. Then hit the 6:00 am workout at CrossFit Asheville.

Ripped callus on my right hand, May 15th, 2009

Ripped callus on my right hand, after being repaired with Krazy glue. Now that's CrossFit.

Warm Up

Pretty typical agility drills, plus a round of push-ups, pull-ups, sit-ups, squats (12 reps each). Shoulder dislocates and Sampson/hip mobility stretching. 8 of my pull ups were dead hangs.

Skill Work

About 20 minutes working on the swing for kipping pull-ups. I am getting MUCH closer. As I progress with pull-ups I think I will get the kipping down more easily. I know that I’ll have no excuses with kipping unassisted through the workouts when I can reliably crank out 10 reps of dead hangs. Currently: my PR is 4.

CrossFit Asheville WOD: “Ladies Choice.”

Today’s WOD at CrossFit Asheville is called “Ladies Choice,” basically a choice between the benchmark AMRAP workouts “Cindy” and “Mary.” I chose “Cindy.”

“Cindy”
Complete as many rounds in 20 minutes as you can of:
5 Pull-ups
10 Push-ups
15 Squats

My results: 11 rounds. I used 2 very small resistance bands for the pull ups.

One result from the workout was a torn callus at the base of the ring finger on my right hand. I repaired it with Krazy Glue when I got home. Wow. Now that’s CrossFit. I didn’t feel the tear at all during the work-out. Then noticed it afterwards. It stung, a lot. But strangely, the Krazy Glue repair was painless. I didn’t expect that. It’s also totally solid. Very interesting.

The workout went well. My push-ups felt pretty strong. I continue to struggle with the pull-ups (hence the challenge). My form in the squat remains, I will readily admit, sub-par (even with a wide stance I have trouble with knees dipping in, rounded back, and properly tracking over the toes; it’s a hamstring and calf/Achilles tendon issue). Of course, I’m doing better than I was at the beginning.

Pull Up Challenge Day 12

I completed 8 dead hang pull ups during the morning warm up at the 6:00 am workout.

Reps #1-2: front grip. Around 6:15 am.

Reps #3-4: reverse grip. Around 6:17 am.

Rep #5-6: front grip. Around 6:20 am.

Rep #7: reverse grip. Around 6:21 am.

Rep #8: front grip. Around 6:22 am.

Reps #9-12: in one set; reverse grip. Wearing bicycle gloves to protect the callus. Around 5:50 pm.

Leave a comment

Filed under CrossFit Asheville WODS, Workouts

Leave a Reply

