Graduation. PUC Day 8.

The fact that I had to attend Mars Hill College’s 2009 graduation ceremonies (occupational hazard) prevented me from joining CrossFit Asheville in doing “Grace” today. Grace is a brutal full-body benchmark workout (30 reps of Clean and Jerk, for time; Rx’d at 135#; I probably would have attempted 115# or 95#, unless coached lower). That would have been awesome. But I am almost more bummed out to miss the handstand skills practice that was also promised.

PUC Day 8

The Pull-Up Challenge grinds forward to day 8. I think Shanna says she’s going to attempt to follow along with me. Maybe she’ll post her reps here in the comments.

Anyone else who wants to play catch up or just “buy-in” along the way is welcome. The rules are simple: all reps must be dead hang reps. Any grip is allowed. Take as much time as you want to finish your reps for the day. Break into as many sets as needed. If you miss a day, you make up those reps the next day. Finally, if you’re following my challenge schedule, you take Thursday and Sunday off of the dead hangs. The goal is day 100, but I reserve the right to stop my challenge earlier, since the real purpose is to master the dead hang and to work my way up to sets of 15. We shall see. As of today I am still stuck at sets of 2.

Reps #1-2: At 8:00 am, at home, front grip. Set of 2.

Reps #3-5: at 1:30 pm, at home, reverse grip. My first set of 3!

Reps #6-7: at 140 pm, at home, front grip. Set of 2.

Rep #8: at 1:50 pm, at home, front grip.

Rain Rain Go Away

Since I missed my workout today, I wanted to do some kind of fun outdoor cross-training.

In fact, I did a full warm up:

• 7 rounds of 40 seconds on, 20 seconds rest, on my jump rope
• push-ups, sit-ups, squats, pull-ups, 15 reps each
• Hip mobility stretches

And then I got all geared up into my armor for skateboarding: knee and elbow pads, helmet, wrist guards. Grabbed my board and even took a picture to commemorate it! (It isn’t too good, so I think I won’t post it). I planned to spend about 40 minutes on my sector-9 longboard skateboard.

But it started raining pretty hard. Boo! One simply does not ride a skateboard in the rain. In fact, I think I’ll stay dry this afternoon. Too bad.

Leave a comment

Filed under CrossFit Asheville WODS, Workouts

Leave a Reply

